Review: Le nozze di Figaro at Glyndebourne

If I could bottle up an emotion and relive it for eternity, it would be Wednesday’s visit to Glyndebourne. I had lived in anticipation of this moment ever since a fellow hiker on my trip to the Dolomites told me of the festival’s existence and I later watched a stream of the 2012 Glyndebourne production of The Marriage of Figaro during the pandemic. 

Anticipation did not dull the experience in the slightest. I did feel a pang of disappointment when I realised the staging was identical to the 2012 version, but I soon lost myself in the magic of Hera Hyesang Park’s clear soprano. It’s interesting, isn’t it, how different elements stand out in different performances? 

In the 2012 recording, I was besotted with Isabel Leonard’s Cherubino. Neither the Cherubino from this year’s Royal Opera House production nor the Cherubino from this year’s Glyndebourne could hold a candle to her. In fact, it almost added insult to injury that Ida Ränzlöv’s interpretation portrayed Cherubino as vulgar instead of cheeky. Though I cannot fault her voice, which was beautiful.

The sleazy Count Almaviva is, understandably, my least favourite character. That being said, there has been a consistently high calibre of singers in the role, with Mexican baritone Germán Olvera in the 2022 Glyndebourne production giving a stunning performance. Disappointingly, Brandon Cedel’s Figaro himself was forgettable – though I enjoyed his singing, Cedel lacked stage presence.

As disparaging as I may sound in my critique, the opera – not to mention the experience of attending Glyndebourne – was still mind blowing. I felt like I was in a dream. The flowing dresses and sharp tuxedos, the stunning architecture and perfectly manicured grounds – it felt as if we were transported onto the set of a film about the British aristocracy. I can definitely see a visit to Glyndebourne becoming an annual tradition.

Le nozzi di Figaro ends tomorrow, but the Glyndebourne festival runs until 28 August.

4 thoughts on “Review: Le nozze di Figaro at Glyndebourne

Leave a comment