Review: Roger Daltrey at London Palladium

Today is my grandfather’s 76th birthday. He’s two years younger than Roger Daltrey. And even though he’s still fit and active, I can’t quite picture him dancing across the stage, bellowing out rock lyrics quite like the latter. Then again, that’s probably what separate legendary rock stars from the rest of us.

Before you accuse me of disparaging my grandfather on his birthday, he’s a legend in his own right, leading his football team to multiple victories during his tenure as head coach. That being said – and appreciated – this is still a blog post dedicated to Roger Daltrey and his incredible drive.

The London concert was the final leg of the “Who Was I” tour. The format was unusual, but in the best possible way – despite the huge venue, Daltrey was keen to facilitate an intimate experience for his fans, answering both pre-submitted questions and occasionally responding to screams from the crowd.

I can’t claim to be a massive The Who fan – I like them, I know their hit songs, and I can even name all the bank members, but I don’t know much about their history or individual careers. I was surprised to discover that one of their big breaks happened when they opened for The Beatles.

This tour was the perfect introduction to Roger Daltrey as an artist in his own right – he talked through his choice of songs in his setlist, which were a mix of his own work, The Who hits, and covers of artists who had had a profound influence on him.

I came away with a deeper understanding of his impact on rock music and a greater appreciation for his talent. Daltrey tackled even the slower songs with an unbelievable energy, keeping the audience enraptured throughout. And, well, how often am I going to see a living legend of rock in concert?

2 thoughts on “Review: Roger Daltrey at London Palladium

    1. I think I managed to take a photo while he was backstage, but very exciting that both the guitarist and drummer were Townshends!

      Like

Leave a comment